Recap: Sheridan Mountain Showdown 2014

By | April 17, 2014

SMS_Podium_PicAfter the dust cleared from the Arizona Trail Riders 2014 “Sheridan Mountain Showdown” enduro there was a new Sheriff in town and his name is Destry Abbott. The April 13th event held at Camp Wood, Arizona under permit from the Prescott National Forest was Round 8 of the AMRA/MotoCity Off Road Championship Series as well as Round 4 of the AMA/SRT/Flexx Bars Western Checkpoint Enduro Championship. The cross series promotion brought out riders from all over the Western States to do battle on the rocky forest trails of the Sheridan Mountain Smith Mesa OHV area.

Congratulations to Destry Abbott for staying focused and picking the right lines to take the Overall win with Jordan Brandt taking 2nd and Mitch Carvolth getting 3rd.

At the end of the day there were many tired racers but the positive comments and grins at the scoring tent hinted that overall the event was a success. In the words of one veteran of past SMS races, “the best Camp Wood race ever”. The restart enduro course had 7 Test sections for the A’s, 6 Test sections for the B’s and 4 Tests for the C’s. The 80 mile course was essentially one long loop ranging from 6500’ to 3500’ in elevation with Camp Wood’s infamous rocks challenging riders on every trail and at every turn. The course had three new trails which allowed the club to spread out the course so that there was only one section of the 80 mile loop that was ridden twice. This event has a history of being tough on the rider and their machine and everyone who participated, and especially those who completed the course, deserve a big round of applause, a pat on the back, and a frosty beverage for their efforts.

The Arizona Trail Riders want to say “Thank You” to AMRA, WestChec, all the riders who came to compete and all the sponsors who support the AMRA and WestChec Series. We very much appreciate your support and hope to see you again next year.

Sheridan Mountain Showdown Top 5 Overall

  1. Destry Abbott
  2. Jordan Brandt
  3. Mitch Carvolth
  4. Travis Epperson
  5. Dustin Walcher